Skip to content

Let the Fundraising Begin

06/08/2011

After spending practically all night finalizing my letter, I am finally ready. And I say that with great trepidation. As you may recall, about a month ago I signed up for Team in Training Flex in partnership with the Chicago Marathon this fall. I’ve been a bit of a slacker in the preparation department, putting off my letter writing and fundraising plans til just recently. I figured, no need to hurry, I’ll just take things as I go. Plus, training doesn’t officially start until this weekend anyway. I made a rough draft of my letter a few weeks ago and received some constructive criticism from my Mom. Tonight I worked out the rest of the kinks and put together what I think is a pretty great letter. It’s not too wordy, not too “factual,” and tugs on heart strings at the same time. I’m pretty confident it’ll be a fan favorite. Especially if my Grandma was someone you knew. What a doll. I miss her so much. And as I sit here writing this post, I’m reminded of why I’m doing this. Why I’ve chosen to dedicate so much of my time and energy into this cause. It is for all the people who are battling or have lost their battle to blood cancers. It is because we still don’t have a cure for cancer. It is because funding is so important, not only for research, but for those who have to endure the financial burdens of the disease. On a daily basis I am faced with patients and families who are dealing with medical costs of some sort, whether it be prescriptions, testing, or just office visits breaking the bank. [By the way, did you know that a simple lab test, called a comprehensive metabolic panel - which measures electrolytes, liver function tests, etc - costs upwards of $400 a pop?? Unreal. Sorry for the side note, just a relevant factoid.] Healthcare costs are ungodly nowadays. So any little bit we can do can help a family who is dealing with an illness such as leukemia/ lymphoma cover small, but necessary costs, is much appreciated.

Here are some common donations and examples of what your money can be used for:

  • $1000 could help the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society fund a researcher to find a cure.
  • $500 could provide patient aid to a person with Leukemia or a related cancer for 1 year.
  • $100 could provide a patient with transportation cost to travel to a cancer center.
  • $50 could register one person to be a bone marrow donor.
  • $25 could pay for the cost of a patient’s chemotherapy drug prescription co-payment.

And here are some general facts about LLS/ TNT: LLS_Fact_Sheet_2

Now clearly, the higher donations are unaffordable for a lot of people (myself included). But even the small donations are helpful. How good would you feel to know that you are paying for a copayment of someone’s chemotherapy Rx?? I know that, for myself, given the opportunity to make a difference and donate some of my hard earned money to a worthy cause, I’m in 100%. Already since posting my website link to Facebook and Twitter this evening, I’ve received 2 very generous donations that make me swell inside. I’m so dedicated to this and I hope you can feel that emotion when you read my letter. I know that my fabulous family and friends will support me on my journey to October and for that, I am ever so humbled.

Now, the fundraising is not something I by any means excel in. I held a bowling fundraiser for the Breast Cancer 3-Day and had a turnout that was decent at best. However, this time around, the stakes are higher. Not only am I committed to raising more money, but a full marathon to boot?? The gauntlet has been laid my friends! I’ve got work to do!

Question:: Have y’all done any fundraising? What was the cause? Any helpful hints?

Here is the link to my fundraising page. I hope you will check it out and at least read my letter. By no means am I pressuring ANYONE to donate. I would just like you to get a little insight into my wonderful Grandmother and perhaps a little better understanding as to why I’m in it to win it :) I couldn’t be more excited to be a part of such an amazing team. GO TEAM!!

My Gram

Love y’all so much. As always, thanks for reading.

xo, B
4 Comments leave one →
  1. 06/10/2011 8:12 pm

    You’re gonna do great! I’d love to donate once i get a job :)

  2. Brandie permalink
    06/11/2011 9:16 pm

    Hi! I saw your blog from a link on the BlueMile FB page. I saw that you are doing TNT Flex. I am one of the fundraising mentors for TNT Indy run teams, and wanted to let you know that, if you are interested, you can run with us as you train for Chicago.

    If you are interested, comment back, and we can talk about when the team runs are. If not, good luck with the training and fundraising (if you have FR questions, comment back. I’ll check your blog in a day or so and we can talk about FR.)

    Brandie
    Go Team!

    • 06/11/2011 9:23 pm

      Hi Brandie! Thanks so much for checking out my blog. I would love to meet up for some TNT training runs this summer! You can email me with details if that’s convenient for you! Cookb823@gmail.com :) I’m so excited for this fall!!

Trackbacks

  1. 7 Links, B Style « Nurse with a Purse

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.