Skip to content

Experience: Golfing Greenhorn

08/28/2011

Since my wonderful hubby bought me this awesome set of golf clubs last night,,

,, we thought it would be prudent to put them to use today! Nevermind that the clubs are the only “gear” I own. Luckily, I had a nice pair of plaid bermudas just dying to be worn. I scrounged up some Pumas as they’re the closest thing to golf shoes I own. After lunch, we headed out to The Players Club for a nice little round!

We started on the driving range so I could get the “feel of things.” After a brief lesson on stance and holding the club, I started hacking away.

Ps,, this bag is only temporary. I’ve already scouted out a black Titleist with pink trim that will soon be mine.

After a half hour or so, we decided to continue the hacking fun and head out for 9 holes. Sure, why not! Nevermind that I felt like everyone was staring at my awkwardness. My little fins were tired from flopping around on the dry land (fish out of water, get it?).

We grabbed Gatorades and headed out.

I read up on the rules of the course as the hubs loaded up the bags.

It was an absolutely gorgeous day, therefore the course was packed. We did a lot of waiting around for the first half, so I made the hubby take pictures :)

I wouldn’t so much say that I played an entire round today. I did a little driving (of the ball, not of the cart). Other times I just dropped the ball on the fairway and picked up from there. I used my pitching wedge a ton. Missed all the sandtraps, and only lost one ball in a swamp. My putt-putt skills from the pink elephant days miraculously returned. The only club I haven’t used yet is the rescue club. I feel like it’s still too mythical of a club for me to properly handle just yet.

In summary, the afternoon looked a little like this,

,, and a little like that.

Without a doubt, I have the worst form mever.

The thing that makes me most happy about learning how to play golf is the time I can spend with my hubby. And my daddy! It’s clearly a passion of theirs, so why not join in and see what all the ruckus is about?! And next time they have an outing, now the ladies can come along! So sorry, fellas!

Today was about practice. The range frustrated the heck out of me because I just felt so darn awkward out there. After some reassurance, I started feeling a little more comfortable, but I’m still a total work in progress. Being the perfectionist I am, I’m sure a lot of frustrating days are ahead of me. I’m going to look into lessons soon so I don’t pick up any bad habits right off the bat. Til then, I’ve got a good perfectionist teacher closeby :)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 08/28/2011 6:11 pm

    I’ve never tried golf before (minus one experience with mini golf) but I think it looks kind of hard! lol. I think if you stick to it you’ll be Tiger Woods in no time. Loove your outfit :)

    • 08/28/2011 10:00 pm

      TW, doubtful. Though I did tell my hubs that I’ll be needing some Ricky Fowler neon to really get my game rolling!

  2. 08/28/2011 6:58 pm

    Who woulda thought after all these years the pink elephant would pay off?? ;)

  3. 08/29/2011 8:55 am

    I am so excited that you are trying out golf! :) David bought me my set a few summers back, but this is the first summer that I am putting them to use! And I LOVE how much QT I can fit in with hubby and my dad! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.