Skip to content

The Real Bri

08/31/2011
tags:

I texted my best girl Samantha today in hopes of her sending some blog inspiration my way. I’ve been reading some darn good blog posts lately and after reading I often think to myself, “why can’t I write like that??” My posts typically revolve around my day to day activities, which I’m okay with and love looking back on. They’re just not so much insightful. I’ve been told I’m a good writer by some. And to a degree, I believe it. I just wish I had the skills of someย most of my fellow bloggers. If you have a minute, read these posts below. They really inspired me this week.

I like to blog about running, family, and my puppy. I don’t always like to blog about my feelings. I do however like to believe that I’m open and honest with my readers. But I don’t always pour everything out on the puter for everyone to critique. Someday, maybe. But that’s not my norm. I hope that when I meet my blog readers one day, I live up to their expectations. I hope they aren’t disappointed with The Real Bri. I hope she is just like Blogger Bri.

I have no idea where I’m going with all of this. Maybe the feelings door on NwaP is finally starting to crack open. Stay with me.

The bottom line is that I want to be good at what I do. In all areas. Work. Family. Life. & now blogging. Unfortunately, I’m fully aware that The Real Bri has deficits.

I want to be an amazing NP. A person people can trust with their healthcare decisions. I get a lot of hugs and thank you’s for what I do at work, but I often times don’t feel like I’m doing everything in my power to make myself the best. What is stopping me?

I want to start a family but worry when the time is right. Is it ever right?

I want to be the best sister, wife, daughter and friend I can be. I hope that I’m doing a good job maintaining all of my current relationships. I know there are some that have gone by the wayside over the years, but why does it feel like it’s always my responsibility to do the maintenance work?

I want to be a marathoner but I worry about hitting that proverbial wall. At mile 20. On 10.9.11. What if I can’t finish? What will people think? I’m also worried about my fundraising. Will I raise enough money by race day? Why haven’t I heard from some people?

I want a pretty blog since I spend so much time here. I have expressed interest in hiring a graphic designer to help clean things up. I like the way it looks, but it could use some primping. I’ve also thought about changing my blog name but can’t seem to conjure up the creativity to make that change.

I want my writing to evolve. I see it happening to people all around me. What do I need to do to make it happen for me? I want to show substance but I’m not quite sure how to go about it. I know I have substance. It’s just putting it on paper that I have difficulty with.

This is all so very tangential. I’m sorry to confuse. I went into this post with one mindset, and now here I am all of a sudden feeling very vulnerable and exposed. Is this what expressing ย your feelings feels like?

Rereading this, I seem to have a lot of wants followed by a lot of can’ts. Maybe that’s the first thing that needs to be changed.

News flash: The Real Bri = WIP (work.in.progress).

Ps,, Sammy, I owe you a post.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. 08/31/2011 7:50 pm

    You are like my real life Carrie Bradshaw! :)

  2. 08/31/2011 8:02 pm

    I think one day the boys are going to get jealous of our soul-mateness. ;)

  3. 09/01/2011 3:39 pm

    Wow, thanks for the shout out! That was really thoughtful. Duuuude.. I feel like some of the things you said here could have come from my head. Especially the family thing. Pretty sure the time is never going to be right! EEEK, scary.

    I think that as long as you write what is on your mind, you will continue to publish great things. Don’t hold back, you never know who you will reach with your blog posts!

    • 09/01/2011 10:45 pm

      Thank YOU for the continually inspiring posts! It was my pleasure to refer some of my readers your way. I’m so glad you found out about your shout out :) I agree with you too,, people read my blog for a reason. So I must be doing something right. Thanks for the comment!

  4. 09/01/2011 6:08 pm

    Just found your blog through a retweet by Janeetha. I love this post and will definitely be stopping by again. We have some things in common! I am really working on trying to improve my writing as well. It is one of the reasons I started blogging.
    Also, I am going back to school next year to be an NP (accelerated BSN first), for the exact reason you said “I want to be an amazing NP. A person people can trust with their health care decisions.”
    Glad I found you in this vast blog world!

    • 09/01/2011 10:47 pm

      Hi! And welcome!! So glad to hear from a fellow nurse/ future NP! It was the best job decision I could’ve made.

  5. 09/01/2011 11:34 pm

    You inspire me to be a better nurse :) So thank you for that! I’ve sometimes dreamed of being an NP, but then other times i’m like i still have a get an ASN, then BSN, then MSN!!!! oh em gee! So keep doing you! I loved the honesty of this post and i love you :)

  6. Rachel permalink
    09/02/2011 12:41 pm

    Aww, Friend, I find you a breath of fresh air. I am always excited to see your new exciting adventure of the day (since I feel like life is a bit like groundhog day!) Sometimes the fog, that is my life, gets thick and I forget to let friends like you know that you are in my thoughts often. When I see a runner on the road, when I see our couple friends that can pick up early afternoon and not have to say “well we could come, but it will have to be after nap time”. You are a blessed woman and dear friend. Keep blogging and remember that even though I am not cheering for you verbally as often as I wish, you are being cheered for, (sometimes in undies and flipflops only–Anna:)) and the girls like seeing pictures of the pup. Love you, xoxox

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.