Skip to content

Blogging Deadbeat

10/06/2010

Well,, I’m a newbie on the blogging block and already a self-proclaimed slacker. I don’t have a good excuse for not posting as much as I’d like to, but I will say that I’m still in a bit of a rut when it comes to truly finding my style. So please bear with me as I post irregularly and with multiple personalities πŸ™‚

Here’s a recap of my life over the past week,,,

Training is going well ! T-11 days til the Freep Half Marathon !! I’m totally pumped, especially since my 53 y/o Dad is running too !! About 4 weeks ago, he had texted me and asked for a 5 week training schedule for a half marathon. I directed him to http://www.marathonrookie.com, and he got running. Yesterday, he ran his first 10-miler in 1:45 and I could just sense his excitement over the phone. He is consumed with everything running as of late and I can’t wait to see him cross the finish line on 10/17 !

Dad & I post-run on a hot Alabama morn

Daddy's Girl

Last week was fantastic in the exercise department (see my dailymile link to the right). I have gotten slightly obsessed with a certain spin class at the YMCA,, so many of my days last week consisted of an hour spin followed by a run. Sounds crazy, but finishing such an intense workout gives me such a sense of accomplishment. Plus, I love the post-workout feasting πŸ™‚ I had a little setback over the past few days due to a little viral URI (upper respiratory infection), but I just returned from a good workout and haven’t felt better in days ! (sniff, sniff, achoo)

Green Monster, mmmm.

I was lucky to have my Mom come into town on Saturday night. It’s been a little while since we’ve had visitors, so I was super pumped to have her (not to mention it means my house gets a good pre-visitor cleaning, hehe) ! Saturday night we spent talking, drinking some vino, and catching up on the haps. The hubs had gone down to Indy to go out with his best friend, so it was a nice girls night. On Sunday, we drove down to Carmel and did some lunching/shopping at Clay Terrace. Then we made a pitstop at Spencer Farms for hot cider and a caramel apple.

Punkins & Produce

Indian Corn

I heart gourds

Mom had brought her dog, Griffin, down with her this weekend, so after our outings, we made sure to take the pups out for their exercise ! Sunday night we drove down to the park and did a little spelunking in and around the river.

Allie catching the breeze

Griffin loving it

Photo-op time !

Rollin' on the River

πŸ™‚

A Wet Doodle

Mom & Griffin. How cute is his little head tilt ?!

Me and my girl

They left yesterday morning, but we will see them again next weekend when we go to Michigan for the race and MSU Homecoming !

Note to self: I will post more often. I will post more often. I will post more often.

πŸ˜‰ xo Bri

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 10/06/2010 10:23 pm

    hi! i, too, am a sporadic poster! it’s sometimes hard to find the time to sit down and write out what you’ve got going on up in your head. BUT i love blogging & people love reading posts, so great work starting up a blog!

    have you run the Freep marathon before? i have only run the Freep Half Marathon – fun course! it was my first half marathon so i was really geeked about it πŸ™‚ hope you and your dad have a great time – what a cool thing to do with him!

  2. 10/08/2010 2:14 pm

    LOVE that you and your dad are running together! Both of my parents started walk/running half marathons in their 50s and it’s so amazing to do something active with them. You (both) are gonna rock your half!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

