Skip to content

Searching for Passion

11/04/2010

Over the past couple days, there has been one question taking over my mind ,,,

“What is my passion?”

I am almost ashamed to say that I have had the hardest time coming up with an answer to what seems like such an easy question. Of course I have many passions in my life. But to name one? I can’t do it. Every time I say to myself “Yes! That is it!” I immediately turn around and think of something different that seems to more adequately fit. Here are my contenders ,,,

  • Family ~ the #1 reason for my existence. I consider my family to be my best friends. Each and every one of them. My mom and I talk nearly everyday about everything. My dad and I both have so much respect and admiration for each other (perhaps the butt-nose bond?!)). My two little brothers are just cool dudes and people I look up to and respect in so many ways. My cousins are my unofficial sisters and my go-to girls. And my husband, my rock, without whom I would’ve crumbled a long time ago. I’m definitely passionate about my family, but isn’t everyone??
  • Nursing ~ I have no idea what I would be doing if I didn’t choose to go into nursing. Helping and nurturing people is in my blood. There are parts of it that definitely aren’t easy (i.e. the math/science, difficult patients/families, hard-headed doctors), but what part of life is easy? My decision to become an NP was something I had wanted to do from the very beginning of my nursing career, and something I am so glad I now have under my belt. Now instead of just taking orders, I can write my own. Although I am a nurse through and through, is it my passion? I don’t know.
  • Fitness ~ I think fitness is a huge part of my life, especially over the past year. It is definitely A passion. It’s something I think about daily. It’s something I love to do. It’s something I tend to be myself up about when I don’t do it. I love running. I love spinning. I love lifting weights. I love yoga. I love challenging my body. I just love it. But I almost feel it’s a cop-out to say that fitness is my #1. I feel like I need something individual to me.

Can you see my dilemma??

I need some help. I really want to know what everybody defines as their passion.

What is yours ?? I can’t wait to read the answers πŸ™‚

xoxo Bri

11 Comments leave one →
  1. 11/04/2010 4:00 pm

    Passion is a tough one. My faith is probably number 1 for me, then my family. Beyond that, I would say (and this is a very vague answer) nonprofit organizations that have a mission to help/support people through really tough times (like To Write Love on Her Arms or the Ronald McDonald House).

    • 11/04/2010 6:33 pm

      You are lucky to have faith in your life, Mindy ! I also love your support of those organizations. I have only dabbled in volunteering but am very interested in getting more involved as time permits. It’s so important to reach out to others, not only for them but for ourselves. My next mission: Girls on the Run πŸ™‚ Thanks for the comment !

  2. 11/04/2010 4:18 pm

    Maybe you have lots of passions. That would be a remarkable way to live. I can usually get in touch with my passion by thinking about what I can spend hours doing and not even notice time fly by.

    Mine are running (fitness in general)
    Blogging (really, LOVE it)
    Helping other ppl succeed (i’m pretty crazy for the underdog!)

    • 11/04/2010 6:35 pm

      Rita,, you are right !! I never really thought about it that way. Why do I only need to have one passion in my life ?? Being overly passionate about a variety of things can be an awesome way to live ! Thank you so much for bringing this to my attention. Instead of focusing on only having one passion, why not make all those passions a priority ? Yay, thanks πŸ™‚

  3. Laura permalink
    11/04/2010 4:35 pm

    Nice website!

    I won’t be much help, I fear.

    Back in high school I would have had to say my passion was music and singing. But no more.

    And then after college, I went to seminary (and loved it for the few years I went) but then life changed and while I still love theology, I’m not sure it’s my passion.

    Passion changes. My greatest commitment now is to my son. I don’t know if I could define that as passion (I adore him) because from my perspective I have no choice but to make him the center of my world. Everything is defined by him. Being a mother is my passion now. Being the best person I can be (failures and all) for myself and for my son is my passion now.

    • 11/04/2010 6:38 pm

      I think that passions are evolutionary. You don’t have to be passionate about one thing forever, as you clearly have described. Things can change, as people change over time. I love that your #1 now is to your son ! I have yet to taken on mommyhood but cannot wait for the day when I can ! I’m sure that passion will override anything I have yet experienced. Thanks for the comment πŸ™‚

  4. 11/04/2010 4:43 pm

    I think when you have a passion for something you feel driven to do whatever that passion is. You’re not complete without it and it gives you purpose. Although sports have been my passion for 30 years I didn’t have a passion for playing the bass till I was 39! I think you can have many. It’s exciting to think there might be a new one around the corner that you didn’t even know was inside you!

    • 11/04/2010 6:40 pm

      Reading your comment, I still can’t name a specific thing that I would describe as my passion !! It’s the weirdest thing to not be able to pinpoint it. But after reading some of the comments I’ve received, I’ve realized that being passionate about various things can actually be a GOOD thing πŸ™‚ Thank you for your comment !

  5. 11/05/2010 11:11 am

    I think you can have many passions in your life. That’s ok. I also think its ok to have no passions. I think some people are meant to have one great passion and pursue it and change the world. I think others are meant to float and experience a littl ebit of everything!

    • 11/05/2010 11:20 am

      I totally agree. I think I’ve done a little overthinking in the passion department, but it definitely has brought a lot of feelings to the surface ! I shall deem myself a floater for the time being πŸ˜‰

Trackbacks

  1. 7 Links, B Style « Nurse with a Purse

Leave a Reply

