Skip to content

Ok ok ok,,,

12/23/2010

Oh boy oh boy,,, confession time.

I wish I could say I’ve been too busy to write, but honestly, I haven’t. Though I HAVE been working full time.

& I wish I could say nothing earth-shattering has happened in my life lately, but truthfully, there have been a few things that rank right up there.

And now here it is,, Christmas Eve Eve. And I am writing my first post since 11/6. Maybe it’s the fact that all my Christmasing is complete? Maybe it’s theΒ Trader Joe’s Candy Cane Joe-Joe’s sugar coma I’m slowly entering into?

Either way you slice it,, I’m a bit of a slacker. I’m aware. Let’s move on.

A brief recap of this nurse’s life,,, πŸ™‚

As mentioned above, I have officially re-entered the workforce on a full-time basis. Being a nurse practitioner is awesome, and I’m so fortunate to be able to do what I love to do. Plus the fact that I can find jobs in my field is an accomplishment in itself nowadays. I feel like I have finally found a job that is challenging and will keep me engaged for much longer than my previous jobs. Once I get back on my routine blogging schedule, I PROMISE to share some nursey stories with yall. Just add it to my to-do list. Le sigh.

About 2 weeks ago, my grandfather passed away. My relationship with my father’s parents has been an interesting one. But that would never discredit the doors that this man has opened for me and my family. With a wife and three young boys, he put everything on the line and started a business with just the change in his pocket. Today, that business is the provider for my parents and many of my extended family, not to mention the place I learned the value of hard work and dedication. I miss him dearly already, but after his long battle, I am sure that he is in a better place. If you have a spare minute (which I’m guessing you do since you’re blogstalking!), please read this article my dad wrote for him in the Detroit Free Press.

And if that wasn’t enough, while I was at the funeral home with my immediate family, I received word that my husband’s grandmother too had passed away. So from Michigan, we drove back down to Indiana to spend time with my other family during another sad time. Needless to say, it was a rough week with lots of hugs and tears (hence, the earth-shattering events).

Anyhoo! Things are on the upswing today. I have one more day of work this week and then we’re off! First to the inlaws for Christmas Eve and Christmas morning. Then immediately up to Michigan for a quick visit with my family. Then back down on Sunday to get ready for our annual trip with some of our best friends! This year,,, Siesta Key, FL!! Can’t wait can’t wait can’t wait. I don’t even care if it’s not hot (which I’m not anticipating anyway). I just want a week away, no stress, no tears, bocce ball, sunshine, good company and good times πŸ™‚ We will be there til New Years Day. I highly recommend everyone take a little time away with friends at least once a year. I’m just glad we are fortunate enough to be able to do so.

On the running front, I recently registered for the Suntrust National Half Marathon in DC on 3/26/11 after hearing about all the fitbloggers that will be in attendance! I am so excited to get myself back into training mode, especially after this holiday season. Does anyone have a good 10-12 week training schedule I could possible borrow for the race?? I wish I knew how to make one up myself,,, put that on the list too! πŸ˜›

Love yall. Thanks for listening. And thanks for putting up with my blogging absenteeism πŸ˜‰

Merry Christmas. Happy Holidays.

xo,Β Bri

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 12/23/2010 9:42 pm

    It’s hard to balance work + life + blogging. Definitely takes some time to adjust and figure out how it all works together.

    I’m sorry to hear about all of the loss you’ve experienced recently and hope this holiday season brings you peace.

  2. 12/23/2010 9:50 pm

    Glad to see you back on your blog. Wow… your past few weeks have been pretty eventful. I’m sorry to hear about your family’s loss.

    I’m glad you are enjoying your work. It’s sometimes difficult, but very important, to find fulfillment in what you do. Enjoy your time off and safe travels to you and your husband!

    Merry Christmas! πŸ™‚

Trackbacks

  1. Recess « Nurse with a Purse
  2. Recess - Nurse with a Purse

Leave a Reply

