Skip to content

Week 1,, Done!

01/09/2011

I am happy to say that week one of the SunTrust National Half Marathon is officially in the books! And it definitely ended on a good note. Actually, I’m quite happy with my running this week.

Since I’m an 8-5er, I’ve been on the early morning workout plan because let’s face it,,, finding the energy after an 8-hr day ain’t all that easy. So by forcing myself to be at the gym when the doors open (530a), I get my day off to a good start and then I’m not obligated to do anything after work. This week, gym time = treadmill time. I don’t live in the best area (light-wise) to step out my front door and start running. So, for safety’s sake, I stick with indoor training (until the days get longer and I have more light to work with). My new training plan, courtesy of Runner’s World, has me running 4 days out of the week ~ two easy runs, a tempo run, and a long run. The other days are either rest or XT days (I opted for one XT and 2 rest days this week, partly because I had to work Sat). It seems to be a good plan so far. My goal is to run a sub 1:50 half mary, hopefully closer to 1:45. I clocked in at 1:59 during my last race, but I KNOW I have it in me to shave off quite a few of those minutes to achieve my goal.

So today, after a glorious night of sleep and sleeping in, (6 day work weeks are brutal people!!) I had a nice relaxing morning complete with laundry, a blog post, and coffee/nutella toast. I then took my time layering up to battle the 19 degree weather outside. I started with these,,,

B.A.

My new Lululemon arm warmers! These things are super cool. They have reflective strips, pockets for iPods/money/etc, a hole so I can see my Garmin, and thumb holes!! (I love thumb holes). I decided to wear them underneath my DriFit longsleeve so I had a little more coverage but could still “breathe” (if you catch my drift). I also threw on my running tights under a pair of Under Armor capris and my North Face puffy vest (plus a hat and gloves of course). After all that, I was ready to rock!

I decided to drive to the Y and see if the “track” that they recently paved was clear of snow (we got an inch or so the other evening). Sure enough, it was! So I took to it with bells on. The loop was a little over 1 mile in length, which was perfect because I had a 6 mile run scheduled and this way I wouldn’t have to run it 20 times to get my mileage (I hate that). It was a little rough at first, but after the first few miles, everything fell into place and I rocked thru it (see my recap on dailymile for full deets).

Now I’m home, I’ve eaten my egg whites and drank chocolate soy milk, talked to my Daddy, and the hubs is walking in from work. Time to shower, make a Target and Pet Smart run, and relax with The Hunger Games (thx to Julie for the rec)! Hope yall have a nice lil Sunday 🙂

xo, Bri

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 01/09/2011 1:50 pm

    I’m so glad you decided to do the race! I’m not nearly as fast as you, but I promise to wave as you come speeding by me. 🙂

  2. 01/10/2011 9:11 am

    LOVE lululemon, one of my bests works at the one at Somerset…! I am so encouraged by your run stories… thanks for the motivation to keep at it! 🙂 and THE HUNGER GAMES!!! AHH, I just finished all three books in one week on my kindle… 😛

  3. 01/10/2011 9:34 am

    You will love this race, I ran it last year and had a great time. They put a great event on and you get to really experience the city and all its neighborhoods. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

