Skip to content

A Nice Little Saturday

01/29/2011

This morning I woke up at 630am. When you’re getting old like I am, bedtime comes early. Even on those coveted Friday nights. We did go to dinner at Amazing Joe’s with another couple, but once we got home, the long work week took over and we were out by 10p. Gah.

Anyhoo, my day started with some coffee and a lil blog recap of the other night’s haps. Then I rallied and headed outside (yes you heard correctly!) for a run. All those dinners out the past couple nights combined with lack-luster/ non-existent workouts warrant a two-run weekend for this girl. I racked up 6.5 snowy miles and boy did it feel great when I was done before 9a! I took my time getting ready (as I clearly had nowhere else to be), catching up on my DVR and enjoying a little more coffee and breakfast πŸ™‚

Do you ever pull things out of the freezer with all intentions of using them in the next day or so, but when in reality they just end up sitting there? Well that’s what I did with a couple chicken breasts the other day. They were rounding day 3 in the fridge so I figured something needed to be done. So, I did a little research and whipped up a delightful chicken salad with mayo and spicy mustard. Only thing I was bummed about not having was celery. Delish anyway. Hubs agreed.

Chickie Salad w/ Tomaters

After lunch, I cozied up on the couch with my ACLS book, but not after making some Teavana tea to sip on. The toasted nut brulee is my faaaaaaavvvv. Right up there with it is the white chai. So yummy with a splash of agave. Which reminds me,, I need to order s’more.

PS,, if you are a tea drinker, you NEED to invest in that little tea carafe device (3rd back in the pic). Again, from Teavana. You put the loose leaf tea inside, add the hot water/ agave, let it sit for a few minutes as you would a teabag, then set it on top of your mug and it pours it right inside! Brilliant!

Allie and I decided to take a little field trip this afternoon seeing as how we both needed a little fresh air. Our first stop was Clancy’s to give Libby a bath and boyyy ,, Allie did NOT enjoy this part of our outing! She was wimpering and shaking the entire time. I took some video of her on my phone while we were in the car wash, but here’s a short one of us in line πŸ™‚

After the car wash, we mosey’d on over to Pet Smart – her favorite space! It was adopt a pet day, and she stirred those little fellas up in their cages as she pranced on down the aisles πŸ˜‰

Frisbee!

Finally, we headed over to the good ol’ Wall (Walgreens) to hit up the Red Box. I picked up Easy A and Going the Distance. Hey, can’t beat $1!

The LAST thing I wanted to do today was go out to eat again, so I decided to cook. I really wanted to make black bean soup, but of course, I used my last can of black beans the other day. So I decided on pizza. I usually make individual pesto pizzas with Boboli bread, pesto, mozzarella and sundried tomatos. I wasn’t in the mood for this variety tonight, but only one (more) problem,,, no pizza sauce. So! I did some more research and found a few recipes online that didn’t need tomato paste (out of that too). Turns out there are TONS out there, all you have to do is look. So I scrounged up some ingredients, starting here ,,,

Crust!

Saucy Sauce

Pre-oven

Voila! (oh ps,, I def took the pizza out of the oven to add yellow peppers πŸ™‚ )

Sauce was a lil sweet, but still delish!

Now it’s back to the couch for some Dexter and a crisp Coors Light. #ILoveTheWeekend! πŸ™‚

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lora permalink
    01/30/2011 12:46 am

    Hi Bri! How funny, we rented “Easy A” today too! What did you think of it? I like seeing those Pampered Chef items on your blog pics πŸ™‚

  2. andionthego permalink
    01/30/2011 1:30 am

    ooh ACLS … I’ve peeked at my dad’s recert materials, not looking forward to that in a few years. πŸ™‚

    congrats on running outside – I’m far too chicken still, so I stick with the dreadmill. lol.

Leave a Reply

