Skip to content

Eat It

04/06/2011

A little fun fact about me.

I love Weird Al Yankovic. Like, a lot.

When I was growing up, my family and I would go on road trips every summer. And we never flew. We always drove, which at the time was absolute misery for my brothers and I. We were ALWAYS whining.

“This is SO boring!! Are we there yet??”

Looking back, we went to some pretty cool places, especially on our 3-week trip out west where we hit up the Grand Canyon, Yellowstone NP, Vegas, Mall of America, Mt. Rushmore,,, I wish I would’ve appreciated those days a little more. Ah, hindsight.

Anyways. Weird Al. When we were driving, my parents would put on Weird Al cassette tapes (we had a lot of them) and have family sing-a-longs. My parents have home video footage of us rocking out in the car to “Gump” (remember that one??). Some of my favorite songs of his are Trigger Happy, I Remember Larry, Young Dumb and Ugly, and Like a Surgeon. When my family and I went on a houseboating trip a few years ago, I went on Amazon.com and bought nearly all the Weird Al greatest hits cds and loaded them onto my iPod for the sole purpose of having more sing-a-longs. And it happened. More family sing-a-longs. While floating down Lake Cumberland. Bevs in hand. The best times.

You may think I’m weird — and it’s okay. Even my husband rolls his eyes at me when Weird Al songs come on in the car (cause clearly I start singing).  Those are some of my favorite memories. I just think my family is so cool. Yes I’m bragging. Not everyone has that kind of love. So brag on I say 🙂

I leave you with a little sampling of my childhood. Enjoy!

 

 

How bout another?! I do quite enjoy the polkas. And who doesn’t love the music video flashbacks??

 

 

Peace!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Angela Moceri permalink
    04/07/2011 9:08 am

    Yes, Bri, those were great times. We’ll just have to always remember to bring Weird Al along wherever we go! 🙂

  2. 04/07/2011 7:57 pm

    hahah weird al! I remember first hearing about him in 4th grade and when i listened to his music… i thought he was WEIRD!!! hahaha.

Leave a Reply

