Skip to content

I Appreciate Curried Mango Chicken

04/12/2011

Some days, I love my job. Especially when my help and hard work finally gets acknowledged.

Over the past week, I have had a number of comments from the doctors I work with including:

“Thank you so much for all of your help.”

“I couldn’t have gotten through this day without you.”

“I would have drown if you hadn’t helped me admit that patient. Thank you.”

These kinds of comments make me so happy that I do what I do. I wish I could wear this button.

If only for the mere fact that it is colorful πŸ˜‰

Now, of course there are those doctors that don’t express their gratitude as freely. But overall I feel like I’m useful in the position I’m in. And really, it’s all about the patient care. I even got hugs (yes hugs!) from a patient and his daughter last week because they were so grateful for the care I gave them while they were in the hospital. And he was a patient that I had little hands-on interaction with throughout his stay. So it just goes to show you,, some people are just grateful to see a smiling face. Because that is truly what makes people feel better in the long run. And I’m good at smile-giving πŸ˜€

After a good day at the office, I went grocery shopping to fill our barren refrigerator. I loaded up on fruits, veggies, and fun beverages. ** On a side note, I’ve decided I need to eat smartly (?) for these next few weeks before my next half mary. I’ve had wayyy too many nights of carry out lately and that needs to stop! My running stamina is definitely suffering because of it.

Ok, back to fun beverages. As I wandered around the wine aisle (cause clearly that’s where I spend most of my shopping time), I decided I would like a 6-pack of some tasty seasonal beer. So after deciding on Blue Moon, I walked around the corner only to find my favorite,, Oberon!! But even better than just Oberon. The section that the Oberon was in was a “Make your own 6-pack” section!! So I grabbed a few Oberons, a Dirty Helen Brown Ale, some other vanilla creme brew, and another favorite,,,

Hefeweizen!!

Love, love, love.

Oh, and dinner tonight was fab too. I shall share one of my favorite recipes that my Auntie Anne put in my personalized cookbook from my bridal shower. Try if you dare, but beware,, it’s delicious.

Curried Mango Chicken (serves 4)

Ingredients:

  • 5 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1/2 cup cashew pieces
  • 1 1/4 cups basmati rice
  • 1/2 teaspoon grated ginger
  • 2 boneless chicken breasts, cut into chunks
  • 2 teaspoons curry powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper (or less) to taste
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 1/4 cups water
  • 1/2 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
  • 1 mango peeled, pitted and chopped
  • 3 tablespoons cilantro
  • 1 cup orange juice
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar

Instructions:

  • Heat oil in a large skillet and toast cashews until golden but not burnt. Remove with a slotted spoon and set aside.
  • Add ginger and saute briefly, add chicken and brown. Remove ginger and chicken.
  • Add rice to pain and cook for one minute to coat with oil.
  • Add curry powder, water, salt, cayenne pepper and lemon juice and stir well. Cook one minute then add cashews, ginger and chicken. Bring to a boil. Cover and reduce to a simmer. Cook for about 20 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  • In another pan, combine mango, brown sugar and orange juice. Bring to a boil until reduced by 1/4.
  • When mango mixture is finished and rice has absorbed all liquid, fluff rice with fork. Add mango mixture, stir well, top with cilantro, and serve hot!

Let me tell you, this is such a great recipe. And it makes approx 4 servings, so it’s perfect for the hubs and I with some leftovers for later! So next time you’re at the grocery store, pick up a mango πŸ˜›

Ok, enough chatter for now! Have a good night yall!! xo

B

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

