Skip to content

Indianapolis Mini Marathon Weekend Recap

05/09/2011

Inspiring. Fabulous. Yummy. Exhausting. Hilarious. Unbelievable.

Words that describe this weekend.

Friday – Expo Day!

Woo woo!

Once everyone arrived Friday evening, we got in our cars and headed downtown to the Indiana Convention Center for the 500 Festival Mini Marathon Expo. I love expos. There’s always so much going on and I just love seeing everyone all geeked up for race day, carrying their race packets, stocking up on gear. Plus I love the people watching. This was one of the better expos I have been to, lots of booths with lots of upcoming races to look into!

Dad & his Camaro obsession

Samantha, Michael, me, and Dad. Ready to run!

After we got our goods, we headed out for a late night carb-loading sesh at Houlihan’s (yes, they still exist). Us racers held back on the alcoholic bevs, but the rest of the group made up for our sobriety 😉

Bro-skee and his "Iced Tea"

Mom's Blueberry Martini

Michael & I

Even the spectators got their gear ready for the morning,, 😉

Run Rums Run

Saturday – Race Day!

The racers arose around 445a (note: most of us also slept < 3 hrs. TG for adrenaline), donned our gear and hit the road back to Indy (our 2nd hour-long drive in less than 12 hours). We found a good parking spot across from Lucas Oil Stadium and made the brief jaunt over to the start line by about 645. Since all 4 of us had different corral assignments, we decided to pick one and all start there. We landed in M.

Pre-race photo ops

My plan from the start was to run this race with my fam/friends. The National Half Marathon was the spring race I wanted  to PR in (which I did). This race was for fun. And fun I had.

The race started kinda lack luster (for me), with a lot of congestion and not a lot of scenery. I kept running past these signs that said PITAREA, and all I could think was, “Man, these people really like their pitas. But isn’t it spelled with an I?” It wasn’t until Mile 11 (I swear to you it took THAT long) that I realized there was an actual space separating the words. Dad told me it was probably where people got their pits checked out. Stay classy, San Diego.

Dad and I stuck together quite well right from the beginning. We maintained a pace between 9:10-9:20 min/mile and kept eachother moving. Michael and Samantha also kept their own pace, just a few (not many!) steps behind. Running around IMS was definitely the highlight of the route. The hubs, pup and I had just walked around the track during the Mutt Strutt last weekend and it was cool to go back running. Plus I appreciate when the ground is even (without sunken manholes,, see: National Half Marathon recap).

The final leg of the race was a little trying, mainly because I knew we were coming VERY close to finishing under the 2-hr mark. Around mile 11, as the rain started to lightly fall, Dad said to me, “Don’t wait for me, go on ahead.” I looked at him, said “I’m perfect. Let’s go. We have 18 minutes to run 2 miles.” And we kept on trucking.

Final Stretch

Our cheerleaders took a few pics as we approached the finish line.

Hand in hand, we finished in 2:02:12. Not with a PR, but with a new bond. Who runs 13.1 miles with their Daddy? Me.

And we shouldn’t forget my best Michael, finishing strong at 2:15. And my best S, who conquered leg cramps, rain storms, and many moments of self-doubt, finishing her first ever half marathon in 3:30:30! I think I’ve created a monster 😀

Get it girl!!

Now for some post-race pics

Being a goof in the beer tent

Finishers!

After another hour-long drive home (this is why I need to move closer to Indy), we all settled back in Muncie for naps and refueling. It wasn’t long before we were getting dolled up and jumping back in the cars to go BACK to Indy (yes, that would be #3). AAARRRGGH! It was slightly maddening to have to do so much driving in such a short amount of time, but I had made reservations for all of us at Recess and we absolutely couldn’t pass up this meal. And thank god we didn’t because, like the first time, everything was unbelievable.

Keeping occupied in the backseat

Hi Mama!

Wine:

1st Course: Asparagus/ Proscuitto Salad

2nd Course: Seared Scallops

3rd Course: Beef! And taters. And kale 🙂4th Course: Sour Cream and Goat Cheese Panna Cotta

I don’t know if the fried banana pudding balls > this panna cotta, but it was damn close. SO good.

And portraits!

Samantha and Michael

Hubs and I

My Guys

Needless to say, after the 3rd and final hour-long drive back home, we crashed. Hard.

Sunday – Happy Mother’s Day!

Fresh from my lilac tree

The day started with homemade waffles and turkey sausage. Then the boys went and played 18, while the girls made a Target run and did some redecorating. Afterwards, an impromptu dinner of caesar salad, corn on the cob chicken and steaks on the grill. Then Mommy/ Kiddo pictures on the deck.

And finally, an ice cream run followed by the Red Wings/ Sharks game 5 – WIN!!!

 I think every post ends with me saying “what a fabulous weekend,,, blah blah blah,” but honestly, it was. There’s nothing I enjoy more than having visitors at my home. I’ve been blessed with a great family and amazing friends. So to be able to spend time together, doing the things we love, is,,, well,,, fabulous.

Now,, who wants to sign up for the Mudathlon??!

Kisses!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 05/09/2011 9:57 pm

    Sounds like you had a fabulous weekend:) Great job at the race!

  2. 05/10/2011 9:34 am

    I laughed out loud about PITAREA! Hah!

  3. 05/10/2011 10:07 am

    Yayyyy!!!!! What a great race =) Glad it went so well!

  4. 05/15/2011 10:56 am

    so fun, congrats!

Trackbacks

  1. Indianapolis Women’s 1/2 Marathon Race Recap - Nurse with a Purse

Leave a Reply

