Skip to content

Mud, Weeds, & Biscotti

05/15/2011

Morning yall! Hope the weekend is treating you well.

I’ve been thoroughly enjoying my weekend off. After last weekend’s Mini Marathon festivities, I have been in serious recovery mode. I decided pretty early on that I was going to take the week off of running/ gym, just to give myself a little reprieve. I came to find out that was a loaded decision. We had an insane week at work, so compounded with last weekend’s exhaustion and the fact that I wasn’t running, made me an extremely tired lady. Friday night came and I literally passed out from 7p to 7a, waking up only to remove my crusty contacts around 11p. Eek 😡

Not to mention, these pretty ladies decided to come in the mail, making it THAT much harder to not put them to the test! Can we say gorg??

Saturday morning I took Allie to her vet appointment, which went fantastically. With all of our moving shenanigans, she has had so many doctors in her short 2.5 years. But I think this one is here to stay. He was fantastic with her and (shockingly) everybody in the office gave her tons of love. No wonder this doodle is so spoiled.

I spent a little time outside yesterday doing some much needed yardwork. 2.5 acres = a LOT of weeds. After stuffing 2 giant trash bags, I looked down and saw that my arms were a teeeeeny bit erythematous (aka. red) and rashy. I took that as a sign to stop immediately (trust me, it broke my heart to stop :P) and hit the showers. I’ve never had poison ivy but I didn’t want to start now. Luckily I had a little tube of gold that has appeared to have offset any raging dermatitis.

We spent another lazy night at home watching Billy Madison. Neither of us had any desire to go out anywhere in the rain. I did, however, enjoy myself a cold brew with my healthy meal of sausage and brussel sprouts!

Correct me if I’m wrong, but isn’t it the best feeling to wake up rested and not hungover on a weekend?? I’ve already made biscuits and coffee and my biscotti is in the oven! Oh, the productivity 🙂 I do want to share my biscotti recipe with yall, because it’s THAT good. My mama and I are obsessed.

B’s Biscotti

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups flour
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt (I usually leave this out because the nuts add enough saltiness)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 whole egg
  • 3 tbsp (light) butter
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries
  • 1/2 cup slivered almonds
  • 1/3 cup pistachios
  • zest of one lemon
  • cooking spray
Directions:
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. Line baking sheet with parchment paper
  3. Combine first 5 ingredients in a large bowl
  4. Add egg whites, egg and butter one at a time. Mix on medium until incorporated
  5. Mix in cranberries, nuts and zest by hand
  6. Coat hands with cooking spray and form into a log (this can be tricky, just keep loading on the spray!)
  7. Place on baking sheet and bake for 25-35 minutes
  8. Remove from oven and let cool for ~ 10 minutes until you can touch the loaf
  9. Cut into 1/4″ slices (or whatever size you prefer) and return to the baking sheet.
  10. Bake another 10-15 minutes until browned
  11. Enjoy!!

Mmm!

Til then, I shall enjoy this:

Race Update!

The hubs and I have officially signed up for the Indianapolis Mudathlon on June 25th!! We’ve I’ve been talking about signing up, but had yet to register. That is, until yesterday,,,

Team Mo’ Muddy Mo’ Problems is out for blood mud!!!

PS,, those pretty pink sneeks seen above will NOT be making an appearance 😉 Happy Sunday!

One Comment leave one →
  1. 05/15/2011 10:13 am

    Those shoes look fantastic! I want some! To be fair, I have a pink pair of running shoes already though… 🙂 That Mudathlon looks like so much fun!

Leave a Reply

