Skip to content

News!

05/23/2011

Sorry for the lack of posts last week! Guess I don’t have much of an excuse beyond the fact that I’m a slacker. I tend to thrive when I’m most busy, and since last week was kind of ho-hum, I fell into a killer rut. My bad.

I will use this time as an opp to share some  delicious news/ chatter!

  • Last week I made a big decision. And this decision came from years of desire and months of jealousy (Thanks, Meggie :)). In August 2006, my mom and I participated in the Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer 3-Day. We had a blast and the experience was truly amazing. After participating, I knew that this wouldn’t be my last time participating in this sort of event. The fundraising part of the process,,, not so much fun back then. It was HARD. But now that I’ve got some experience under my belt (plus some looooovely social media friends ;)), I have no doubts that I can excel this time around. So last week, I made a few phone calls, did some research and made a game-time decision to join something that is bound to be life changing.

I am now an official member of Team in Training Flex for my upcoming Chicago Marathon!

I couldn’t be more excited about the entire process. My grandma Helen lost her battle with Non-Hodgkin’s Lymphoma in 2003 and to do this in her honor is something I’ve wanted to do forever. And now I have the chance! Yay!

TNT Goods

Moceri Girls in our 3-Day Tent

Blisters ARE Sexy!

  • The hubs and I spent (another) weekend in Michigan this past weekend and (once again) had a blast. Friday after we arrived, we went to our family’s bowling alley [5-Star Lanes, learn it!!] for a family friend’s fundraiser. Saturday was spent catching up with an old friend, getting my hairs done, shopping, sunning, and cooking out with my best and her bf. Sunday a group of us went to a matinee showing of Bridesmaids (go see it) and did some more BBQing with the fam before heading home. Much golf was played, much sunshine was enjoyed, and much, much fun was had 🙂
  • I hate weather. I can honestly say that with total conviction. I’ve never been a big fan of weather for as long as I can remember. I had big trees outside my bedroom growing up and everytime they would whip up against my window, I was assured a tornado was on its way. My hatred for weather was exacerbated last year when, on a drive from Michigan to Birmingham Alabama, we hit a stretch of black ice and found ourselves rear-ended on the side of I-65 for a solid 3 hours. Of note: the south does not believe in salt trucks; they prefer dirt (cause that provides excellent traction and all). Last year, we also found ourselves deep in the Nashville flooding escapade on our way home from the Kentucky Derby, which caused major anxiety due to (my) fear of hydroplaning. Emphasize: MY. Combine those events with the ice storm of 2011 and the all the snowy fun I’ve had to reacclamate myself to this year, and I’m just a really happy camper. Last night, on our drive home from Michigan, we felt like storm chasers trying to head off some nasty wind and t-storms around Fort Wayne. And now, here I am, cozied up in my forest-green carpeted basement waiting out yet another strip of severe t-storms. The fun never ends I tell ya. Where in the world can I possibly go to avoid ALL natural disasters? If you know of this dreamland, enlighten me please.

Last night's fun. Dun,dun,dun.

Blogging from the basement

  • In any event, I’m looking forward to the next few weeks (and months) ahead. This is one of my longer work weeks since I picked up a Saturday shift at my part-time job. But I still get 2 weekend days off due to the holiday. Then next week I only work 3 days and it’s off to Michigan again for Beaumont Hospital Graduation Weekend! Can’t wait to see all my old work friends and celebrate the new grads. Oh! And this weekend, I finally get to pick up Roxy, my beloved M3, who has been garaged all darn winter. She is refurbished and ready to rock the streets of Muncie! 😉
I think the storm has settled. I’m ready for dinner and a (big) glass of wine.
xo, B
2 Comments leave one →
  1. 05/29/2011 11:00 am

    I feel your pain on the blisters and the storms!

Trackbacks

  1. 7 Links, B Style « Nurse with a Purse

Leave a Reply

