Skip to content

Funky Town

05/31/2011
tags:

I think I’ve figured out the best way(s) to keep myself out of a funk.

  1. Register for races.
  2. Picture myself in a bathing suit.
  3. Immerse myself in social activities where not looking a slob is preferred.

I got called out at the gym today. Again. Yes, it’s happened more than once after an unintentional break from my 0530 gym sessions. Apparently people actually do pay attention to other people while working out.

I spent a good portion of last night feeling sorry for myself, loafing around the house dwelling on the fact that I hadn’t worked out in over a week and was feeling a bit on the “pudgy” side. After doing some back and forth texting with my Mama, mainly talking about the Extreme Makeover: Weight Loss Edition premiering that night (ironic, yes), I decided to set my “Gym Alarm” so I wouldn’t cop out on another morning workout.

Turns out, my plan worked cause at 5a, I scurried (or dragged ass) out of bed and headed to the Y for a run. I ended up running outside around the pseudo track because the thought of jumping on the treadmill was less than desirable. I did 3 laps (about 3.5 miles) and called it a day. Then, rocking a hot tomato face, I headed inside for a light weight sesh. And that is where the call out occurred.

And you wanna know what I think about that?

Screw em. Sometimes a girl needs a break. I would never think to call someone out. Where do people get the nerve? I don’t even know you! Shush.

In any event, it may have struck a chord because I’ve made a few deals with myself for the week.

First, I will workout every day. It’s kinda nice this time of year because it’s actually quite light out at 0530 when I usually get to the gym. So, instead of being forced on the ‘mill, I can just run right outside my door. Which is on the agenda for tomorrow. In conjunction with this deal, I will not be a total lard at night while I’m enjoying my nightly programs. I will do some sort of activity, whether it be foam rolling, light weights, or crunches. A little toning never hurt nobody. Oh! And I got an email from our local running club today and apparently there’s a yoga class that’s starting soon here in town. Woo! Oh how I miss my yoga. And with marathon training starting in a few short weeks, this bod will definitely be needing some downward facing dog.

Next, I will NOT eat like crap. I will make a conscious effort to choose healthier foods. This includes allotting time for breakfast each morning after my run and trying to ward off the “evil drug reps” that bring quite possibly the most unhealthy meals in the midwest. No more Bravo, no more Scotty’s. No more. No.

Finally (and I did this today!), I will climb the stairs at work at every opportunity. Now when I need to go from LL to 9, I may reconsider. But the shorter flights, stairs it is! It’s amazing how quickly you can get your heart rate up just with a little climb. Plus, that bathing suit booty? Check! 😉

I’m heading to Michigan this weekend for the annual Beaumont Hospital Resident Graduation Dinner. In other words, I will be seeing lots of old friends, doctors and coworkers and I would like to not feel like a slob (though that may possibly be impossible given the new dress I’ll be rocking). Every little bit helps. Even choosing apples over chips.

And! I just made an impromptu decision to sign up for the inaugural Carmel Half Marathon on June 11, 2011. I have been toying with the idea, so when I saw one of my friends had registered, I was in! And honestly, making that kind of commitment is the best motivation to keep active.

Time to hit the floor. Foam rolling and weights, here we go 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. 06/01/2011 9:53 am

    I’m glad you’re getting out of your funk! yay 🙂 I miss your nursing stories! xoxo

Leave a Reply

