Skip to content

Weekend Refresh: Landscaping 101

06/19/2011

I ran a marathon this weekend. Or I’m guessing this is what I will feel like on 10/10/11 after actually running one. After a grueling 6-day work week, I spent the weekend knee deep (literally) in what I like to call Landscaping 101. Let’s refresh.

The hubs and I are renting a home. Upon signing said rental agreement, we were informed by our landlord that landscaping duties would be left up to us. With the exception of lawn mowing, which we pay someone to do, we would be completely responsible for how the rest of the 3 acre yard looks.

Here’s what it looked like Friday:

Those are weeds, not trees

Overgrown much?

Needless to say, it was time to do some touching up. We had our landlord get us an estimate and when he returned with some outrageous number, we decided to take matters into our own hands. We recruited some family who were looking for a little side work and boy, did we put them to work.

Our crew arrived Friday evening, and for preparation purposes, I immersed myself in one of these:

One and done. Let’s rock.

Saturday morning came and the day started with a nice rain storm. Me being the princess I am, stayed inside for a few hours and put a major dent in my Team In Training letters (most are out to be delivered ~ check your mailboxes!!). Around 10a, once the rain subsided, I made my way outside. The front yard was first. Disclaimer: I am a major novice in the landscaping department. But to be fair, I used to call myself “The Cook Who Can’t” and now look at me! My sister in law Heather took the reins and showed me the ropes, starting with the hedge-trimmers. God, I hate this tool. But damn, do my shrubs look NICE!! 🙂 Next came the clippers, which I begrudgingly pulled out when the hedge-trimmer died. Let’s just say my forearms are cashed. 8-10 hours later, we called it a day.

Here’s the front yard after day 1:

Check out those shrubs! Eh, eh??!

And here’s me after day 1:

And here’s what I drank after day 1:

Allie had a ball on day 1, rolling around in the mud, lounging in the shrubbery, ya know, all that stuff that dogs do. She got a nice little hose down since she looked like a zebra by day’s end. So today she had the pleasure of staying inside since it was another wet and muddy day. We made out way to the backyard by 830a after coffee and biscuits, and spent the morning pulling out the obscene amount of weeds and unnecessary plantage. I swear, whoever planted all of this stuff was not in their right frame of mind.

Mama Cook

Not a happy camper

Then came the mulch.

Smile, honey 😉

Day 2 consisted of weeding, trimming, shoveling, spreading, hosing, and a lot of wheelbarrowing. With a baby-sized lunch break in between, we put in another 8-hour day.

Here’s the final product!!

Side of the house

Screened-In-Porch

Backside

Tree-weeds be gone!

Pleased w/ my tree-trimming skills

Our now walkable path

You like?? I’m thrilled with what we’ve done. There are still a few odds and ends to take care of but overall, a vast improvement. Plus there was a lesson learned this weekend! Never will we EVER have this much landscaping in our next home. Never ever. No way. A nice little garden and a few pretty hastas will make me happy as a clam 🙂

I feel your pain, Ginger!

Big thanks to Mom & Dad Cook and Heather for all of your blood sweat and tears this weekend! We are so lucky!

And now a note for my Daddy,,,

Did, I love you so so much! You have been such a driving force in my life and there is no way in the world I would be who I am without your love and support along the way. I will never forget our “life talks” at McCormick’s, our skiing road trips to Boyne Mountain, and crossing the Mini finish line hand in hand. I could never thank you enough for all that you’ve done for me. Even if it’s just being at the other end of the phone when I need a friend to talk to. Cause that’s what you are,, one of my best friends 🙂 Love you!! Happy Father’s Day!

BDE 🙂

Happy Sunday!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Christie permalink
    06/20/2011 7:38 am

    You gave me motivation to pull the little teeny tiny weeds in my backyard that seemed like a gigantic, super annoying job until I just saw this. Nicely done!

  2. Nancy Kaminski permalink
    06/20/2011 8:07 am

    Your yard looks great…all that hard work paid off big! Bri, now you’ve got be dabbing my eyes at your message to your Dad…such tender, from the heart words! Lova Ya!

  3. 06/20/2011 11:10 am

    Are you for hire??!! Can’t wait to see the finished product up close.. In just a few days!! xo

Leave a Reply

