Skip to content

Indy Mudathlon Recap

06/28/2011

With all the hoopla about the latest and greatest “mud marathons,” I knew I HAD to get a group together this summer and try it out. And when I heard that the Mudathlon would be taking place a mere 20 minutes from my home, it was appointed the chosen one.

Team Mo’ Muddy Mo’ Problems came about sometime in May after a mini recruitment by yours truly. I had some skeptics amongst my crew (a lot based upon event pricing), but how could you resist an event that involves mud, obstacles and beer?! All together now: MUD! OBSTACLES! BEER!

Who's responsible for that design work?? Oh yeah,,, 😉

My teammates from all across the Midwest arrived late Friday night. Our start time wasn’t until 1145a Saturday morning, so it was a nice change of pace from the Mini when we had to be on the road by 530a. It was a nice leisurely morning, filled with coffee, sticky buns, and good preparations. My husband was on call Friday, and unfortunately had to spend the entire night in the hospital operating. When he returned at 830a Saturday morning, I was certain he would say he was too pooped to participate. But to my surprise, he rallied, went a bought a pair of cheap tennies @ Meijer, and rocked out the race with the rest of us. Mudathlon VIP: hubs! 🙂

Pre-race pics:

After arriving at the race site/ paintball course, we finished up our battle preparations.

Duct tape, hand wraps, stretching, oh my!

😉

Going into battle!

Note: the emcee at the start line was all over our team. Loving on our shirts and name. Asking who the tshirt designer was ~ to which he referred to me as the “young one” (if only he knew). Then he played our theme song:

A few more starting line pics:

Before we left, my Mom asked me how long she thought it would take us to finish, to which I guestimated about an hour? It usually takes about a half hour for a 5k, so it couldn’t be much longer than that. Au contraire,,,

We’re off!

The first mile amazed us all. Boy were we in for it! Giant spools, hay bales, stinky mud pits, long trail runs, and a 20ft cargo net. I cannot stress enough how fantastic I thought our team was through it all. The entire group sticking together, waiting for each person to finish the obstacle before moving along. MMMP was a mucking great family 🙂

About halfway through, we were faced with the first mud pit. Knee deep, sticky as molasses, mud. This, my friends, was NOT an easy task.

Post mud pit:

Then came the monkey bars (which I dominated BTW 😉 ).

Others weren’t so skillful.

Rums goes kaboom

The next few miles were much of the same, only with some new twists. Mud slides gave a few of us some sore muddy bottoms. Rope climbs gave us a little road rash. And huge hay bales just about knocked the wind out of us. Honestly, though. Every part of this was event fantastic.

I pose on hay

The last mile I swear took an hour. Between the muddy river washoffs and the final mud pit, we were cashed. The boys pulled ahead of us girls about 10 min before we hit the last obstacle, which was fine because we needed a little breather. When we hit that final muddy stretch, we knew what we had to do: take off our shoes! The first time across was so hard with all the shoe mud that weighed us down, so it was a no brainer. About 1/3rd of the way across, however, I felt a nice rock slice the bottom of my foot, making me regret the shoeless decision.  It is healing up nicely now, thanks for the concerns 😉

Daddy/Hubs Takedown!

Post-race photo ops:

1 hour and 45 minutes later, we finished the Mudathlon 🙂

The day was just fabulous. After waiting in the ginormous shower line, we got our free beer and brat/burger, and we hit the road back home for real showers. The night wrapped up with an amazing home cooked meal with contributions from just about everyone, Brennan Huffs/ Doback’s in our new Mudathlon mason jars, ladder golf and bananagrams. I couldn’t have asked for a better team or a better weekend.

Thanks to Mom and Auntie Anne for their photography skills! xo!

Check my facebook page for ALL the race pics!

One Comment leave one →
  1. 06/29/2011 7:50 pm

    Look at you– how cute! I want to do a mud race soon. And your quads = killlllla.

Leave a Reply

