Skip to content

Knee High by the 4th of July

07/04/2011

Sunday morning started at 0615 with a 10.5 mile training run. I made sure I was up before the sun in order to beat the worst of the humidity. I was a little trepidatious heading out but knew I needed a good long run bad. After breakfast and some cow juice, I was off.

And it worked! The run went great! Check out my recap here.

Running tip: A nice way to get mileage instead of just running up and down long stretches of road is to weave in and out of subdivisions/ side streets. The miles add up super quick plus it breaks up the monotony of long runs!

After our workouts, the hubs and I packed up and were on the road north by about 1030a. Of course we left the cooler of beer/wine at home and had to turn around about 5 minutes in. Standard procedure.

Did you know that according to Farmer Ang, corn should be knee high by the 4th of July?? FYI 😉

We arrived in Albion around noon, had a nice little lunch with the fam, then we were off to the golf course. No no, I did not golf. I played wifey spectator instead.

The hubs old H.S. golf team stomping grounds

I did take it upon myself to enjoy the sunshiney day with some refreshing adult beverages.

And of course I watched a little golf too 😉

PS, I think I’m much better suited as a spectator than participator. Maybe someday I’ll give it a go. Marriage is about compromise right?? And I’ll do anything to make you happy, honey 😉

After golf, we headed over to my husband’s grandfather’s home where there was a big gathering for the annual 4th of July fireworks/ Fish Fry Extravaganza. After dipping into the tasty grub, we took a walk down to the lake where a bunch of peeps were swimming.

4-wheelers in the water

Allie was not happy that she had to stay on her leash, but we were not dressed to take her for a swim like Saturday. So leashed she stayed. Poor doodle. I ended up caving and letting her wade in the water, just enough to give her skinny little legs a show.

On the walk home, we saw the epitome of redneck seating arrangements. I couldn’t not take a picture. Judge for yourself.

Yes, plungers. Let's just hope they've not been used.

It was nice sitting outside catching up with the family. I feel like we’ve seen a lot of them lately, which has been great. It’s been so nice being back in the Midwest and being able to do things like that on a whim.

A beautiful sunset,,

,, led into a fantastic firework display!

Hubs and devil dog :-X

Great times! Allie toughed out the firework show like a champ. A little clingy at times with some of the loud booms, but she was a star.

We met up with Dr. Matt at his cottage on Lake Wawasee and made a little trip to The Frog for some sh** show fun. Gosh, I’m getting too old for this scene. The last time we were there looked a little something like this:

Circa 2008

Our time spent frogging was short, but entertaining. Always nice to spend time with S.D.

All in all a great day. 20 hours long, but great nonetheless.

And today is an absolutely gorgeous day. Sunshine. Breezy. Beautiful. I’m outside blogging with my girl and already jonesing for another run later tonight when we get back home. We’ll see how well that plays out 😉

Hope everyone has a fabulous fourth!! How did you spend your weekend??

xo. B

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 07/04/2011 2:19 pm

    Sounds like a wonderful weekend! I’m having a cookout tonight followed by Lafayette fireworks! Adult beverages will also be a part of the plans 🙂

  2. 07/04/2011 2:46 pm

    Yay! Hope it’s awesome!

Leave a Reply

