Skip to content

Ricky Turns 27: A Chicago Tale

07/11/2011

This past weekend I made the impulsive decision to roadtrip-it to Chicago to visit my biggest little brother on his 27th birthday. I had a bunch of friends that were traveling from Michigan so on a weekend when there was nothing better to do, why not head north?!

After work, I packed my bags and made the 3 1/2 hour trek north. The most annoying part about the trip is that because of improperly placed Indiana highways, I am forced to drive south to Indy, only to then turn around and head north to Chicago. Dumb, I know. But there’s honestly no better way and it’s faster than battling country roads. Otherwise, the trip isn’t too terribly bad.

I always get so excited driving into the city. Guess that’s what happens now that I live across from fields of corn and soybeans.

Happy B

I was the first to arrive, so Chuck Liddell and I promptly decided to have a little photo shoot.

2 studs

And I snapped a few shots of the apartment and the gorgeous sunset.

Can we fit 7 people in here??

As soon as the other peeps arrived, we put on our Friday best and headed out on the town!

Night #1: Burwood Tap.

Elevator F U N

And a few beverages later, we were feeling good 🙂

Saturday morning came bright and early, and Mike and I headed out to Lakeshore Drive for a training run. It was hot. And sweaty. And crowded. But I loved every minute. Not to mention all 10 miles we covered. [Rockstars? Yup.] Chicago has such an amazing running community and I’m always motivated when I get in a run there. Tall, small, bearded or bald. We saw a little bit of everything during those few hours. Note to self: Saturday = great people watching in Chi.

After we got back, we peeled off our sweat-soaked gear and immediately headed up to the rooftop for Ricky’s Lincoln Park Pool Party. The deck was already crowded since it was such a beautiful day. I slathered up with some SPF and got right to that pool. Nothing like a good post-run community bath 😉 Soap, anyone?

Quite the view

The Birthday Boy/ Old Man

Pool Fun

Jeff & Caitlin

😎

There’s clearly no birthday party without Richie. And there’s definitely no Richie party without jorts!

Boom

Yours truly.

After a sufficient amount of sunshine, we took the party inside to sing happy birthday and enjoy some cupcakes/ an afternoon siesta before the evening festivities.

The siesta lasted a little longer than any of us expected, but rightfully so all things considered. Around 1030p, we regrouped and headed back out. Night #2: Kirkwood ~ an IU bar! Go Hoosiers!

Oh oh oh, but before heading out,,, check out the killer sunburn I discovered while getting ready. Nevermind the pool party where I actually WANTED to get some color.  I got all of this color DURING MY RUN. Brilliant B apparently forgot to block up before heading out for her nearly 2-hour run and ended up with some swell tan lines. I swear I got more erythematous (red) as the night progressed.

Owie

Anyhoo. Back to the bar.

Sangria fish bowl? Yes please!

Me and My Guys!

Great dancing. Great laughs. Great fun. Great impulse decision.

Sunday was a lazy morning, but I got back on the road to Indy around 1pm EST. I love going to CST and gaining that extra hour but I absolutely despise having to lose it on the way home.

I conveniently gassed up at my favorite sight-seeing stop of the entire route. WINDMILL TOWN! Or whatever they’re called. I love them.

No joke, there are hundreds of these guys in Lafayette. Amazes me every. single. time. I once drove through the city at night and it looked like UFO’s lining the sky ~ all the little blinking red lights. Rambling, my bad.

Oh, and have you ever seen one of the propellers? Yup, just one takes an entire semi flat-bed to transport. Unbelievable. Okay, I’m done now. Promise.

Still in recovery mode today, but worth it to spend time with some of my favorite people. The hubs and I will be back there in a few weeks for a Cubs game with friends. Excited already.

Happy Birthday, Ricky!!! Love you! 😀

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Christie permalink
    07/11/2011 11:52 pm

    I’m not going to lie, I’m a little (okay, majorly) jealous that I don’t get to have swanky rooftop pool parties…but I’m glad you guys all had a good time. And P.S. Where did you get that black dress? Me like!

    • 07/12/2011 11:00 pm

      I know, right?? It’s quite the plush lifestyle. Not one I’m used to living! Dress is from Athleta ~ I’m obsessed 🙂

  2. Angela Moceri permalink
    07/12/2011 5:50 pm

    Loved your recap. Haven’t I always told you that the best times are usually the unplanned/last minute ones? >3 Mom

  3. Angela Moceri permalink
    07/12/2011 5:54 pm

    Nice recap Bri. Great pictures too! Haven’t I always said that the best times are usually the unplanned/last minute ones? Glad you guys had fun. ❤

  4. 07/12/2011 10:11 pm

    Ahh!! Wish I had read this before you came to Chicago!! Next time you’re in town, Tweet me — would love to join in on that rooftop deck 😉

Leave a Reply

