Skip to content

3 Years Gone By

08/23/2011

August 23, 2008.

It’s hard to believe that 3 years ago today, I was waking up in Petoskey, MI, getting ready to marry the love of my life. The day started with rain & clouds and ended with sunshine & sunsets. A spectacular display of love, laughter, family and friends. A day I wish I could rewind and replay on a regular basis. Without question, one of the best days of my life.

What marriage has taught me (so far!):

  • Communication is imperative. Before I met my husband, I was a champion at keeping my thoughts and feelings boxed up inside. He didn’t tolerate much of that behavior before he started working with me to (gasp!) express my feelings! Imagine the thought! Today, we are much better at talking things out when we have things on  our mind. Gone are the days when I left things to fester inside. Talking (not texting) it out works wonders.
  • Date nights are important. It’s so, so easy to get caught up in the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Gym, work, eat, sleep ~ repeat. By setting aside a day or two each week to escape the monotony, things stay fresh. The hubs and I aren’t the best at keeping date nights a priority, but that will change. Starting tonight 🙂
  • Big beds rule. Just make sure to kick the dog out every now and then.
  • It’s the little things. Holding hands. Back rubs. Making each other dinner. Turning the TV off. Watching the sunset together on the back porch. Togetherness is what counts. Something about growing old together too from what I’ve heard,,

Another awesome year in the books. And God-willing, many, many more to come. Just where does the time go?

Love you so much NJC ❤

10 Comments leave one →
  1. 08/23/2011 8:58 pm

    Let’s do it again!! Please?! 🙂

    • 08/24/2011 6:53 am

      Ball’s in your court this time, baby! I guess I should start working on my speech,, 😉

  2. 08/23/2011 9:34 pm

    Hi to a fellow nurse! 🙂 So glad I found your blog – I absolutely love it. I graduate with my MSN on Friday (cannot wait) and I also want to do either FNP or PNP so I am definitely going to bookmark your blog!

  3. 08/23/2011 10:02 pm

    Ya’ll are so cute 🙂 And i LOVE your dress!

    • 08/24/2011 6:53 am

      I thought the dress looked like a cake topper at first,, til I tried her on. Then I fell in love (again)!

  4. 08/24/2011 9:25 am

    Happy Anniversary! I adore your cake topper.

  5. 08/25/2011 6:04 pm

    Aww! Hope you had a great anniversary! Congrats!

Trackbacks

  1. Cora & Chris Say ‘I Do’ « Nurse with a Purse
  2. Cora & Chris Say ‘I Do’ - Nurse with a Purse

Leave a Reply

