Skip to content

Feature Friday Guest Post – HHSJ

08/26/2011

A few weeks ago, I received a tweet from my friend Laura. Her friend, Samantha, who blogs at Health, Happiness & Skinny Jeans has a series called Feature Fridays that puts runners in the spotlight. Well, when Laura was asked to contribute to a weekly post, she threw out my name as well! So,, I put together a lil somethin’ somethin’ and today was my debut! I thought I’d throw it up on my blog too, but you can read Sam’s version HERE.

So, without further ado,, the story behind Bri the Running NP! 🙂

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

When did you start running and what inspired you to start?

I grew up playing sports like softball and lacrosse. I was always able to sprint well, but distance running never came naturally. It wasn’t until winter 2009 that I decided to (wo)man up and sign up for my first 5K. I was inspired by my friend, Amy, a running superhero in my mind (hey, anyone who runs sub 4-hr marathons is unbelievable; and especially a 3.5!). I did nearly all of my training on the treadmill and followed no specific training schedule. I just got out there and ran. I felt completely unprepared at the start, but found myself dashing down the strip and back in 27:30, lightyears faster than I had ever imagined. I didn’t even get a medal and I was hooked. I love Amy for giving me the running bug!

What top 3 things do you love most about running?

  1. The mental clarity it provides.
  2. The fact that I can pick up wherever I am and just go.
  3. Buying new gear! [“I have an addiction, sir!” ~ Carrie Bradshaw]

What keeps you motivated to run?

I’m extremely happy with the way I feel both mentally and physically since I’ve become a runner, so maintaining that is a huge motivator. Also, just being a part of the online running community keeps me on track. I’ve started this new thing via Twitter where I recruit “virtual training” buddies (#virtualtraining). Interested friends and I set up a time and date that we both plan to be running/exercising and make a point to follow up with each other once we’re done. It keeps us both accountable for our workouts, especially when it’s the last thing we may feel like doing. Shoot me a tweet if you’re interested!

What’s your favorite running memory?

Hands down, crossing this year’s Indianapolis Mini Marathon finish line, hand in hand with my Dad.

Are you training for any races at the moment?

Yes! My first marathon will be the Bank of America Chicago Marathon on 10.9.11. I also have the unbelievable privilege to be raising money for the Leukemia Lymphoma Society and Team in Training in honor of my late grandmother. She battled hard against her fight with Non-Hodgkin’s Lymphoma and so it’s only fitting for me to do the same. Only my battle will be on the pavement. I couldn’t be more excited to be a part of this amazing organization. Please take a moment to visit my TNT fundraising page here. Go Team!!

What is your favorite distance to run?

So far I have completed 6 half marathons, so I’d have to say that is my preferred distance. Ask me again on 10.10.11 after 26.2. Then again, don’t 🙂

What’s your favorite way to refuel post-run?

With anything and everything that comes into view!! Ah, the beauty of running. But if I had to pick one thing: Cupcakes. With cream cheese frosting. And sprinkles.

What’s one tip you would give to a new runner?

I think you’ll hear this from a lot of people, but the biggest obstacle to overcome is just getting out there and running.  Thomas Jefferson once said “Never put off till tomorrow what you can do today.” It’s the absolute truth. If you don’t make yourself run today, what is going to change by tomorrow? Nothing. To some of us (ahem, me), running doesn’t come naturally. Luckily, everyone was born to run. It’s just about training your body to do it and do it well. Believe me, the benefits you’ll reap are beyond imagineable. I never thought I would be in the physical or mental condition to be training for a full marathon. But here I am, just over 6 weeks away from 26.2 miles. And I couldn’t be more excited.

Thanks again to Sam for the opportunity to guest post!! Now, go run!! 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 08/26/2011 10:04 pm

    you are awesome 🙂 And you and your dad are SO cute!

  2. 08/27/2011 12:24 pm

    Oh you’re training for the chicago marathon? That’s awesome, a lot of my friends are too! I decided to skip out on that one this year just because I didn’t know if I was going to have the time with graduation and finding my first nursing job. Hope training is going well!

Leave a Reply

